Skip to content

In Depth with About Face

September 1, 2011

In our September issue we were thrilled to feature About Face, a new beauty boutique offering skin and nail treatments from owner Colleen Feucht. After hearing Feucht’s story, we wanted to share more about her business and her fearless leap from working in an office for 20 years to launching About Face. Here she talks about her decision to tackle business ownership, her favorite kind of facial and why her beauty treatments are more than skin deep.

About Face's owner and aesthetician, Colleen Feucht.

How did you become interested in the beauty industry?
I always loved makeup and [the beauty world]. I had wanted to go back to school to get my aesthetics certificate, [but I] discovered it required full-time study for about four months. At that time [I] had just built a brand new house, moved, and that just wasn’t in the cards. So I waited a few years and then [came] my mid-life crisis. I decided, at 41, ‘Ok I’m going to go back to school and become an aesthetician!’ And so I just quit my job, went back to school and have been doing it ever since.

What made you decide to start your own business?
[I thought], ‘Ok, I’m not getting any younger and if I don’t do this now, I’m never going to do it.’ I have two twin boys, who are leaving in two weeks to go off to college, so I’m going to be an empty nester and this is going to keep me occupied.

What is your favorite service that you provide right now?
My favorite service is the Intraceuticals Oxygen Infusion Facial. It is simply amazing.

You encounter women seeking skin treatments for all sorts of reasons. Do you find that treatments improving skin health can also be a confidence boost for many women?
Yeah, I do. And that’s why ‘serious solutions for healthy, beautiful skin’ is my motto. We don’t have beautiful skin unless it’s healthy, and in order for it to be healthy, we need to have a consistent take-care-of-your-skin program. I think when you feel physically healthy and you are taking care of your skin and protecting it from free radicals and pollutants that attack our skin every day, it is going to show because your skin is going to be healthier. [In turn], you will exude that confidence to other people.

It takes a lot of courage and determination to launch a business on your own. Who has inspired you along the way?
In my inner circle, one person that inspires me is my former co-worker, Kimberly, who is just one of these people who naturally motivates other people. She’s so confident in herself that when you’re around her, it’s contagious and then you feel confident about yourself because she feels confident. And she’s so knowledgeable about skin care that I just get all excited when I’m around her because, obviously we have that common bond.

But she, for a long time in her younger years, had a lot of skin issues. She had acne and she was a sun-worshiper. But to see her skin now, you would never know that because she has made this turn-around and has taken immaculate care of it. So she inspires me to share that with other people who may say, ‘You know, I’m 38 years old and I haven’t taken good care of my skin and it’s too late now.’ I tell them, ‘No, it’s never too late to start.’

About Face is located at 7940 Tree Ln., Ste. 117, Madison; (608) 566-3797 or aboutface-madison.com

Correction! In our September issue, we profiled Feucht and About Face. We erroneously referred to Feucht as a licensed cosmetologist when she is actually a licensed aesthetician. We also stated About Face is the only skin care business in Madison offering Intraceutical Oxygen Infusion Facials. Locally, both About Face and Radiance Skin Therapy & Laser Center offer the treatment. Our sincere apologizes!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

