Skip to content

My Favorite Things: November

November 29, 2010

Hello Dolls,

I am on a constant search to find the latest and greatest inspirational treasures in fashion and beauty. We find our inspiration and creativity coming from many different places. I am here to open you up to the things that move me. Some months I may share with you a great book or  new music I’m enjoying. Other months it might be a movie or a bold new lipstick. Here we go…

L’Oreal Double Extend Lash Boosting Mascara

I am always trying out new mascaras, in the search to find the best. Ladies, I believe I may have found it! L’Oreal’s Double Extend Lash Boosting Mascara has changed my life. The lash boosting primer is the first step in plumping and conditioning your lashes. It coats lashes in white, which helps you see if you have an even application.  Then the second step is the ultra-lengthing mascara topcoat which extends lashes up to 80%! For around $10, it can’t be beat. My lashes have grown in the last few months of using this product. People now stop to ask me if I am wearing false lashes, which never happened before using L’Oreal’s Double Extend Lash Boosting Mascara. Pick up a tube at your nearest drugstore or wherever L’Oreal products are sold and you won’t be disappointed.

Ginger

I’m not referring to the spice, I’m talking about being a redhead! I have always experimented with my look, for as long as I can remember. My hair has been every color of the rainbow and I have even been a redhead before. But there’s something different about being a ginger this time, probably because I feel like I have really come into my own as a woman.

The journey of a woman is an interesting one. When we are younger, we feel like we know everything. Around 25, I realized I knew nothing! As I continue to go through life, I learn more and more about myself and about human beings. It’s a constant process and an exciting journey. One thing I know in this moment, I love being a redhead. I look like Jessica Rabbit and have never felt sexier! Ask your stylist what shade of red would work on you. If you’re not willing to commit to a new color, try a temporary gloss to see how this color feels on you.

My new red hair.

Documentaries

In general, I love a great documentary. But I watched three amazing documentaries that were particularly moving to me in the last month. The first was “Joan Rivers: A Piece of Work”

This documentary follows Joan for a full  year. It was amazing to see Joan in a new light. She is hilariously funny, but in this documentary she shows her vulnerability. She has always been an inspiration to me but this has taken her to a new level. At one point during the documentary, Joan holds up her calendar and explains her fear of white pages. Referring to previous years when every page was scribbled full, she says, “That was a good year.”

I work very hard at my three jobs, but sometimes I ask myself, “Why? Why am I working so hard?” Joan helped me to see why. It is my love and my life. When your calendar is scribbled full with no white space, that’s a good year!

“Phyllis and Harold”: This frank documentary uses a lifetime of family home movies and interviews to recount a 59-year marriage. Filmmaker Cindy Kleine uncovers family secrets and tells a story that could not be shown publicly as long as her father was alive . It is a bold story about love and loss that touched me deeply.

“Art & Copy” is one of the most brilliant and engaging documentaries I’ve ever seen. It is a must-see for anyone involved in a creative field. I really identified with the idea that we are trying to say something or prove a point through our work. I approach every photo shoot by asking myself, “What are we trying to say? Who is this girl? What is the point?” And I’ve learned that when you start with the truth, magic happens.

Have confidence Dolls, you are beautiful!

-Rosalee

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kathy, 64 permalink
    November 30, 2010 8:23 am

    Rosalee, thank you for still another engaging column. I am particularly happy you made us aware of the film, “Phyllis and Harold”. Whatever our age, it is good to see a thoughtful, insightful film on stage of life that are ahead of us. Hope it comes to Sundance Cinema.

Leave a Reply

