Skip to content

The Muse: Some Like it Hot!

November 12, 2010

Spicing things up this Season

I’ve been getting my hair done at Studio 107 for the past eight years. My stylist is a color expert and I know this because, as picky as I am, I always leave her seat satisfied. So the other day I was sitting in the chair and got to talking to about this season’s biggest hair trends. “We’re seeing a lot of reds” she replied. When most people hear red hair they usually scowl and think of Lucille Ball or Annie.

But red is actually a very flattering and beautiful color to wear. I find it intriguing and mysterious. I love to switch things up from season to season, or even day-to-day depending on my mood. I have tried red in the past; however, I quickly came to the conclusion that my personality suits blonde the best.

Natural Reds vs. Vibrant Reds

Some of the best looking natural reds can be seen on celebrities like True Blood’s Deborah Ann Woll and Nicole Kidman. To get the natural looking affect, International Creative Director for Joico Vero K-PAK Sue Pemberton suggests mixing hues to dilute the intensity. One idea was red or copper shades with gold. “A rosy shade combined with gold produces a beautiful warm red result” Pemberton states.

If you’re hesitant about committing to an all-over shade, start by adding soft red-toned highlights. With medium-brown hair for example, you can add a few rosy highlights a shade lighter than your natural color to start out.

If you’re looking for a more dramatic change make sure you know all the details before committing. Earlier this spring I decide to have a red/maroon tone added with my blonde hair for something unexpected and new. The color the first day was a pretty vibrant maroon. As suggested, I didn’t wash it for two days to let the color set. Like most reds, the color fades and it fades quickly. The purple eventually washed out into a pretty natural red. After a month of this, I got sick of it (as usual) and went on to something new. It was fun for the time being and a great way to change up my look without damaging my hair.

It is said that lighter or blonde hair will pick up the hues easier. Since red is the fastest-fading of colors, you must make sure to give your hair that extra bit of TLC when sporting the look. Professional hair products specialized in color care will keep your shade looking ultra shiny and vivid for a long period of time. Personally, I love Redken because that’s what works for me.

Have fun with your hair! It’s like an acrylic painting; you can always put more color over what you already have. So if you’re on the fence about change, I say just go for it! (You never know until you try.)

“We are constantly evolving into who we are…we are always growing.”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rosalee permalink
    November 13, 2010 6:54 am

    Great post Chelsea! I just went red! I am starting to think redhead’s have more fun!

    • Chelsea permalink
      November 13, 2010 11:19 am

      Can’t wait to see the new ‘do… Rock it girl!

Leave a Reply

