Skip to content

The Reporter: Lou Roberts, BRAVA’s November Fashion Model

November 9, 2010
This week I got the chance to talk with Lou Roberts, BRAVA Magazine’s November fashion model! A history professor at UW-Madison, Lou is a fashion lover who even crafts her own clothes. Not only was Lou inspired by her experience modeling for BRAVA (she bought most of the looks from the shoot), she also told me about the fashion inspiration she draws from Paris (it might make you jealous to know how often she gets to travel there).
Pick up a copy of BRAVA’s November issue to checkout our “In Touch With Texture” fashion spread, where Lou shows off stylish ways to layer textured looks for fall. Read on and enjoy a behind the scenes video of the photo shoot made exclusively for our on-line readers here!

Describe your experience at the BRAVA shoot and what it was like working with Rosalee (BRAVA’s style director).
It was something I never thought I would do. I have had a life-long love of fashion and clothes. I have known Rosalee forever and one day she said to me, ‘Would you want to model?’ I was a little worried that I wouldn’t like the clothes but Rosalee has an incredible eye and she can find fantastic things. She did a great job of relaxing me, and Abby [Schoofs, the photographer for the shoot] was also extremely down to earth. I had never had my hair done up before this shoot. I’m gay, I never had a wedding or went to the prom, so this was a treat. I also had false eyelashes for the shoot!  I looked so different with them on!
What was your favorite look from the shoot? There were things I went out and bought the next day, like the sequined top we had used as well as the gold beaded necklace (bottom right). The thing I loved most was the red hat (left)!

What is your history with fashion? I make a lot of coats. I sew, knit and design clothes as well. I started sewing when I was 12 years old. I started to design my clothes because sewing patterns were a year or so behind current fashion.

I am a French historian, which is great because people pay me to go to Paris! I have been there scores of times. Paris fashion is two years ahead of Madison, so I go into stores, look at the clothes and then sketch them. I also love to look at fashion magazines.

Are you a native Madisonian? I am originally from Massachusetts. I taught at Stanford for 12 years and lived in San Francisco but the Midwest is best! I love it here.

What is your favorite upcoming fashion trend? It is a boring moment in fashion because of the recession. I really like fake fur. Right now I am making a coat with a fake leopard fur collar. I also love booties.

What fashion advice would you give to other women? The key to looking good is to love yourself. I am working on that!
One Comment leave one →
  1. Michelle permalink
    November 10, 2010 8:16 pm

    Congrats Lou and awesome work Abby and Rosalee! 😉

Leave a Reply

