Skip to content

Another Frugal Fashionista: Introducing…Sarah

October 28, 2010

Hello! My name is Sarah Schmidt and I’m super excited to be sharing the title of Frugal Fashionista with Sarah Greenberg!  My husband, Nicholas, and I have an adorable daughter, Lily who is about to be a year old.  Finding great fashion and beauty on a fixed budget can seem overwhelming, but I’ll be here to give you tips and tricks as I learn them along the way.  For now, here’s a bit more about me:

What was the best fashion or beauty advice you’ve ever received?

Probably “less is more.”  I’m not very flashy but I think that you can make a statement with one great piece.

Who is your fashion icon?

I love Drew Barrymore.  She’s constantly evolving and changing her style. I also really like Kate Hudson.

What was your biggest fashion or beauty disaster?

Yikes! I have had more than a few….Probably the time I thought that wearing a sailor hat was cool.  I actually wore it paired with John Lennon-style sunglasses.

You can only wear the wardrobe from one movie for the rest of your life.  What movie would it be?

I love the hippy style in Almost Famous!

What is one essential item in your wardrove you couldn’t live without?

My cardigans!  I wear them with dresses or jeans, at work and at home.  They really do go with everything and they’re keeping me warm on these blustery days, now that my fall coats don’t fit.  (Baby weight is a pain!)

I also really love my Minnetonka moccasins.

Who or what is your biggest style influence?

I take it all in from everywhere.  I work in retail so I see a lot of people everyday and that’s where I get a lot of ideas.  I’m also lucky to have amazingly fashionable friends who I borrow ideas from.

Describe your style in 3 words.

relaxed, hippie, simple

What’s currently on your wish list?

Lucky Brand has a handbag that they call the “Stash Bag.” I love the flower embroidery!

Lucky Brand Handbag, Floral Embroidery Stash Bag

What beauty products can’t you live without?

I cannot live without my Aveda hair care and skin care products.  I love the Pure Abundance shampoo and conditioner to make my fine hair feel thicker and fuller.  Their Green Science Firming Eye Cream has made it so that I don’t worry about wearing concealer anymore.  It’s amazing!

I’m also a big fan of NARS Orgasm blush.  It’s a great color for just a bit of a rosy glow.

What’s your favorite outfit you’ve worn and why?

I had a green strapless cotton dress that I wore when Rosalee had a collection being showcased for Wisconsin Fashion Week.  It’s comfortable and I can wear a cardiagan with it.  I was also pregnant at the time and it was the perfect fit.  This was one of the last times I really got to go out with friends before I had my daughter Lily so it reminds me of a care-free summer.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Theresa permalink
    October 28, 2010 9:27 pm

    Fun! I am glad to see you blogging…I love your taste. This is the perfect blog for you.

  2. Sarah Greenberg permalink
    October 29, 2010 10:14 pm

    I love my NARS Orgasm blush too!

Leave a Reply

