Skip to content

My Favorite Things: October

October 25, 2010

Hello Dolls,

I am on a constant search to find the latest and greatest inspirational treasures in fashion and beauty. We find our inspiration and creativity coming from many different places. I am here to open you up to the things that move me. Some months I may share with you a great book or  new music I’m enjoying. Other months it might be a movie or a bold new lipstick. Here we go…

Florence And The Machine

This breakout band is lead by Florence Welch. Often, the machine portion of Florence And The Machine is a drum kit, piano, or a guitar. Other times, it is a seven piece band. Florence And The Machine gained mainstream success when the song, “Dog Days Are Over” was used to promote this summer’s blockbuster hit, “Eat Pray Love.” Florence has impeccable style and effervescent energy. She has become a huge influence for me creatively. I love everything about her music and her fashion sense. I encourage you to get her debut album “Lungs.” I love it more and more every time I listen to it.

THE WAR OF ART: Break Through The Blocks and Win Your Creative Battles

I was given Steven Pressfield’s book, “The War Of Art: Break Through The Blocks and Win Your Creative Battles”, as a gift and it was one of the best gifts I have ever been given. This book really opened my eyes to the power resistance holds over all of us. Pressfield says,”Most of us have two lives. The life we live, and the unlived life within us. Between the two stands resistance.”  I believe we all have a purpose in this life. After we discover our purpose, what is the next step? This is where most of us get stopped by resistance.  Pressfield gives us the tools and mindset to break through and live the life you dream about.

Pink Ribbon Hand Relief™

Aveda’s Pink Ribbon Hand Relief™ is one of my favorite things in October. It is the same hand relief that I love all year long, but Aveda donates a portion of the proceeds from the sale of each bottle to the Breast Cancer Research foundation. The foundation is a nonprofit organization founded in 1993 by Evelyn H. Lauder. It is dedicated to funding clinical and genetic research on breast cancer at medical institutions around the globe.

Thank you to all of the wonderful ladies that attended the casting call for the Madison Women’s Expo Fashion Show! You are all so beautiful, inside and out!

Have confidence Dolls, you are beautiful!

-Rosalee

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

