Skip to content

The Trendsetter: Equestrian-style riding boots

October 12, 2010

One of the hottest trends for the fall is the leather-riding boot. If you don’t already have a pair, this is the hot equestrian piece to have in your wardrobe. I mentioned in my intro bio that a pair of Frye riding boots was on my wish list and (fingers crossed) hopefully they won’t be on there forever. I would rather have them on my feet than on my wish list!

A riding boot refers to a tall, below the knee, boot that has a flat heel.  The flat heel makes riding boots easy to walk in and more comfortable than heeled boots. I love wearing a heeled shoe but if you are tall like me, the last thing you want is to be outrageously tall at all times of the day. A flat riding boot will give you the style you want without making you feel like a giant.

The first thing to decide is color. The most common colors, of course, are black and brown. Before making a decision about which color to choose, think about your wardrobe and accessories to decide which color would go with the most in your closet. Both colors can be worn during the day and at night so you won’t have to worry about that. Since the purpose of a tall boot is to show it off, the best way to wear riding boots is with skinny jeans or leggings/tights.

Just like any other piece of clothing, boots come in many styles. I love a classic, simple boot but if you want more edge, look for a boot with buckles or studs.  Below is a picture of me in my favorite pair of leather riding boots.

 

Showing off my favorite riding boots

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. abby permalink
    October 14, 2010 4:19 pm

    Great job! 😉

  2. avond permalink
    May 22, 2011 4:38 pm

    My compliments! You look gorgeous and the riding boots over jeans look is really strong and hot!

Leave a Reply

