Skip to content

My Favorite Things: New York Fashion Week Edition

September 27, 2010

Hello Dolls,

I am so excited to blog about my favorite things each month! I am on a constant search to find the latest and greatest inspirational treasures in fashion and beauty. We find our inspiration and creativity coming from many different places. I am here to open you up to the things that move me creatively. Some months I may share with you a great book or  new music I’m enjoying. Other months it might be a movie or a bold new lipstick. This month we are going to explore my favorite things from my recent trip to New York City. Here we go…

Brooklyn

I have been to NYC numerous times over the last ten years, but I had never had the opportunity to cross over into Brooklyn. This trip changed it all. I love Brooklyn! It has a very downtown Madison feel. I felt instantly at home there. We were able to go to Brooklyn a couple of times on this trip. The first time was for the Brooklyn Flea. It was Hipster Heaven to a thrifter like me. We spent the day at the Brooklyn Flea and had the best brisket sandwich of all time and organic snow cones shaved from a block of ice. The whole day was magical, but the best part was finding my new favorite necklace. It will take a lot to top this guy.

Luca Razza Goat Necklace!

We went back to Williamsburg, Brooklyn later in the trip with my friend and brilliant stylist Jason Hallman. Jason showed us around to the best vintage stores and cute boutiques. This ring further confirmed my love for Brooklyn! I have created a tradition of commemorating each year of doing hair at NYFW by buying myself one amazing cocktail ring. I was planning on getting the Las Jewelry  ring from the Introduction: The Guru post. Instead I went with this Digby & Iona ring, a definite conversation piece. According to catbird it has even been used as an engagement ring!

DIGBY & IONA Fourteen-Point Buck Ring

Waiting for the train back into the city.

Aveda’s Control Force Firm Hold Hairspray

Aveda Control Force Hairspray

I am absolutely in love with this product. Last year at NYFW I tried out a top secret can of this stuff and then waited impatiently for almost a year to get my hands on it again. It is the best hair product I have ever used!

Aveda says this about Control Force, “Our firmest hold hair spray offers long-lasting hold and humidity defense for all hair types—and has a net-zero climate impact.*

  • All-day firm hold and 24-hour humidity defense
  • Fast-drying, non-flaking formula
  • UV filters and anti-oxidants
  • Organic essential oils of Bulgarian lavender, bergamot, palmarosa, and vetiver—calming aroma

*Through Aveda’s funding of renewable energy to offset the CO2 associated with the manufacturing, transportation and use of Aveda aerosol hair sprays.”

It works well on every hair texture and every style. I love it on wet hair as a body builder and shine enhancer. It is amazing to add texture to dry hair. It is the firmest hold hairspray without being tacky or stiff. Control Force acts like a dry shampoo on second or third day hair. It works great for styling short or long hair on men and women. I really can’t say enough about this product. Pop into Headlines Salon at 6803 University Ave in Middleton to pick up a can of Control Force Hairspray (say hi to me while you’re there).  Control Force is a revolutionary product I know you will love as much as I do!

Following your dreams

I am a big believer in following dreams. This is something that is always on my list of favorite things. If we can just slow down and quiet ourselves we can hear that small voice  in us all that whispers what our dream is. When there is something on your heart to do in this world, go for it! It is an honor to work hard to have those dreams come true. When we follow our dreams it gives hope and inspiration to others to follow theirs.

From a young age I knew I had an artist’s spirit. My dream was to be involved in the fashion and beauty world and to help other’s discover their beauty. I have held onto that dream without expectation as to how it would unfold. I knew if I stayed open to possibility, worked hard, showed up early, and stayed late, things would naturally evolve. Being true to yourself is the propellent behind dreams coming true. I continue to be amazed and overwhelmingly grateful for the life I get to lead! Doing hair for NYFW is another dream come true!

I also want to mention that we’re approaching one month with the new Style File team and we are having so much fun! Thank you for having us! We appreciate all of your support. If you are enjoying reading our posts, please pass this blog along to all of your friends. Thanks again!

Until next week, have confidence Dolls, you are beautiful!

-Rosalee

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

