Skip to content

Ask Rosalee: A Leg Up On Fashion

September 6, 2010

Dear Rosalee,

I have spider veins on my legs. It makes me very uncomfortable and self-conscious when I wear anything that shows my legs. I would love to have the confidence to wear what I want and not worry about my veins. What can I do? Thanks for your help!

-Kathy, 62; Madison

Kathy,

Thanks so much for your question! You got it right when you said, “I would love to have the confidence to wear what I want and not worry about my veins.”  Fashion  is all about confidence. If you are not feeling confident in what you are wearing, it will show in your face and in your posture. I am a firm believer in if you feel like you look good, so will everyone else. I hope to give you some tips that will have you feeling confident about yourself and your legs!

I will only be addressing the fashion side of this question. Please consult a medical professional to discuss preventative measures and treatment of spider/varicose veins.

If you are wanting to wear a skirt with bare legs, there are some great concealers to help camouflage your veins. These are a couple of my faves.

Dermablend

Kat Von D

1. Use a high-pigment, opaque concealer as close to your skin color as possible. For the best application use a makeup sponge or your fingers to pat the concealer on the area you’d like to cover.

2. Make sure to blend the edges into your skin getting a thinner application as you go out from the vein.

3. Allow the makeup to dry for several minutes. When it is fully dry, dust a setting powder over the area, using a large makeup brush or use a setting spray. This will help the makeup stay in place and prevent it from rubbing off during the day.

We are now heading into the fall season, which is my favorite for fashion! There are many ways to cover those veins without sacrificing your style.
Try a knee high boot. It is an instant way to feel sexy and stylish. Knee high boots come in all colors, textures, heel heights, and price ranges. I encourage you to try on a few pairs at a local shoe store like shoo or check out zappos.com to find your perfect boot.
Another great alternative? Tights. You can wear a great opaque or patterned tight at any age. I love a black opaque tight! It creates a long line for your legs, which is slimming and stylish. A patterned tight can be a subtle addition or statement maker for your ensemble.

Falke Vittoria Sheer Tights

Patterns from opaque to sheer.

Lastly, let’s send some love and kind thoughts to our legs. They support us in our day to day lives and make it possible for us to strut our stuff! I hope you can take these tips and give yourself a leg up on fashion!
Have confidence Dolls,  you are beautiful!
-Rosalee
Send your fashion and beauty questions to rosalee@bravaenterprises.com.
Please include your age and city.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathy, 62 permalink
    September 7, 2010 10:05 am

    Thanks, Rosalee! That was great advice especially the spiritual parts. I will try those textured stockings, too! They are hot!

    • Rosalee permalink
      September 8, 2010 9:10 am

      Thanks Kathy! Have fun with it!

      • Kathy, 62 permalink
        September 20, 2010 2:46 pm

        Rosalie, where in the Madison area, have you seen them?

      • Rosalee permalink
        September 20, 2010 7:06 pm

        You can find tights at Macy’s, Anthropologie, The Perfect Pair, and many other stores around town. Macy’s has the largest selections of tights that I have seen in Madison.

Leave a Reply

