Skip to content

Introduction: The Muse

September 5, 2010

Dear BRAVA reader,

My name is Jaime Gerber and I’m here to be your muse. I’ll be pulling inspiration from television, movies and celebrities and relating it back to you! One week I may try out a hairstyle featured on the hit drama “Mad Men.” The next, I might try to recreate the smokey eye/nude lip combo that Kim Kardashian has made so famous. You’ll be with me every step of the way as I explore different trends in style. So if you’ve ever wondered, “Hey, that looks great on her, how would it look on me?” stay tuned and buckle up! It’s time to be aMUSEd.

In the meantime, just a smidge about myself:

What was the best fashion or beauty advice you’ve ever received?
Be comfortable to be confident. I’ve learned, through the years, that this statement holds true. Whenever I’m uncomfortable in any outfit, my confidence plummets. I feel I look my best when my confidence shines through!

Who is your fashion icon?
Jennifer Aniston. She always looks so polished, whether in jeans or a gown. Always elegant and understated.

What was your biggest fashion or beauty disaster?
Uh…growing up in the ’80s! Enough said. I recall a pair of jeans with about 90 belt loops and brightly colored scrunchy socks. It was a terrible decade in the photo album!

You can only wear the wardrobe from one movie for the rest of your life. What movie would it be?
“The Notebook.” I absolutely love vintage looks, especially from the 1920s through the ’40s. I feel that style, in particular, really embodied the essence of a woman. Simply beautiful fashion.

What is the one essential item in your wardrobe you couldn’t live without?
Jeans. I live in them. They are without a doubt my go-to item.

Who or what is your biggest style influence?
I pull inspiration from everywhere—from television and magazines, to the woman passing me on the street!

Describe your style in 3 words.
Simple, classic, easy.

What’s currently on your wish list?
A black military style coat from Burberry’s 2010/2011 Women’s Fall Collection. Love.

What beauty products can’t you live without?
NARS The Multiple, mascara, felt-tipped liquid eyeliner, and q-tips! I’m doomed without a q-tip!

What is your favorite outfit that you’ve worn, and why?
A navy J.Crew strapless linen dress. I’ve had an ongoing love/hate relationship with this dress. It comes with a rather ridiculous story. Though I’ve never actually gotten to wear this dress OUT, which completely breaks my heart, it most certainly has been the most memorable. Maybe one day you’ll see me in it! Fingers crossed folks!

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 4, 2010 7:34 am

    The Notebook movie would always put a tear on my eyes, i love this movie very very much “”

Leave a Reply

