Skip to content

Introduction: The Frugal Fashionista

September 4, 2010

Hello all, my name is Sarah Greenberg.  I hail from the great state of California and have been here in Madison for about 10 years. I consider myself to be a creative person and an old soul. I have always felt like I belong in another time period. I’m drawn to vintage styling and old glamour.

But with a background in retail, I know how to spot a good deal. Look to me to get the most bang for your buck when it comes to fashion and beauty. I will be your Frugal Fashionista. My goal is to show you how to expand your wardrobe without blowing your budget.

What was the best fashion or beauty advice you’ve ever received?

My father has always said “when in doubt, throw it out.”  I’m not sure if this would be considered a piece of fashion or beauty advice, but it’s a life motto. You can apply it to anything.

Who is your fashion icon?

Zooey Deschanel. I love her vintage vibe. Her look is very ladylike and put together while also fresh and current at the same time.

Zooey Deschanel

What was your biggest fashion or beauty disaster?

Junior prom.  I was so in love with the idea of the dress, but my dress and my body were not in love with each other.

You can only wear the wardrobe from one movie for the rest of your life. What movie would it be?

Okay, this is going to sound a little cheesy, but “White Christmas.” The dresses have a way of really flattering a woman’s shape. I love big full skirts with nipped in waists and I have had a serious crush on Rosemary Clooney’s strapless black dress. And did you see those gloves!?

What is the one essential item in your wardrobe you couldn’t live without?

J Brand curvy fit denim…skinny jeans for ladies with curves.  They fit amazing and the denim is a heavier weight so they don’t loose their shape.

Who or what is your biggest style influence?

My grandmother, Mur, has always had amazing style. It’s hard for me to put my finger on what it is, but she is just her own person. I have never seen anyone manage to pull off a hairstyle like hers or wear the same shade of lipstick she does.

Describe your style in 3 words.

Sweet, Flirty, Feminine.

What’s currently on your wish list?

I’m on the lookout for some new boots. I haven’t found the perfect pair quite yet.

What beauty products can’t you live without?

Mary Kay Microdermabrasion set, NARS Orgasm blush, Benefit Lip Balm

What is your favorite outfit that you’ve worn, and why?

It’s nearly impossible to pick just one, but I’d have to say that anytime I get “theme” dressed (just not ’80s theme night).  The outfit I wore to my husband’s 30th birthday party would be my best example.  The dress had a retro feel to it, black and white halter with a sweetheart neckline and a super full skirt. I had my hair in a style from the ’50s with bright red lipstick to match my shoes.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

