Skip to content

Introduction: The Trendsetter

September 2, 2010

Hello Brava blog readers,

My name is Mallory Schinker and I will be your Trendsetter; bringing you all the info you need to know on the latest trends seen on the runways, in local boutiques and right here on the streets of Madison.

What was the best fashion or beauty advice you’ve ever received?

I would have to say that my mom gave me the best fashion advice when she told me “less is more.” I also love the Coco Chanel quote “always take one thing off before you leave the house.”

Who is your fashion icon?

Sarah Jessica Parker/Carrie Bradshaw. She is fearless in her style and embraces every ridiculous outfit she wears. I want her fearlessness when it comes to style.

What was your biggest fashion or beauty disaster?

Biggest beauty disaster: nearly plucking my eyebrows off in middle school. My mom had to tell me to put down the tweezer! Thankfully I have two clearly visible eyebrows today.

You can only wear the wardrobe from one movie for the rest of your life. What movie would it be?

Hands down it would have to be The Devil Wears Prada…when Andy starts wearing designer clothing instead of her frumptastic cable knit sweaters! My favorite scene is when they are flashing between all of her chic designer looks on the streets of New York City. That’s one of my dreams in a nutshell.

What is the one essential item in your wardrobe you couldn’t live without?

Blazers! Half of my closet is consumed by blazers of all colors and styles. They pull together any outfit and are super easy to wear. I scored a great Michael Kors white blazer from a vintage store and I love it so much. I refer to it as “my Kors”.

Who or what is your biggest style influence?

I like getting inspired by everything around me: movies, television, magazines, celebrities, people on the street, friends and taking what I see there and translating it into my own style. If I had to pick one person it would have to be celebrity stylist Rachel Zoe. Her overall attitude and love of fashion amazes me and she always dresses fabulously. Fashion is a lifestyle for her and I admire that.

Describe your style in 3 words.

Classic, casual, cool.

What’s currently on your wish list?

Foley + Corinna Mid City tote in any color, Frye Dorado Riding boot, and ANYTHING Chanel. I love watches and in my mind the bigger, the better. I love diamonds (real or fake) so I have my eye on any watch that is classic with some bling. This is a wish list (emphasis on the word wish) so might as well throw some Christian Louboutin heels on here, anything vintage and designer, David Beckham…ok I think I’m getting off track.

What beauty products can’t you live without?

I’m pretty simple when it comes to the beauty products I use. I love Olay Daily Facials. I believe that bronzer products are a must during the summer. I never leave the house without mascara and I’m currently obsessed with the Gucci perfume “Envy Me”.

What is your favorite outfit that you’ve worn, and why?

I would have to go with my prom dress. It was a form fitting, sleek, orange satin dress with rhinestones. It reflected my personality perfectly. It’s still in my closet waiting for the day I can wear it again.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

