Skip to content

Introduction: The Guru

September 1, 2010

Hello BRAVA readers,

My name is Rosalee Eichstedt and I am honored to be the new Fashion & Style Director at Brava Magazine. It has been a lifelong dream to style for a magazine and it’s an amazing opportunity to be a part of the Brava team! I would like to take a moment to wish Mollie all the best in her new adventures. You can see what she’s up to here

I am so very excited to connect with you through Brava’s Style File blog.  I have organized a great team to reinvent the way we write for this blog. We will be posting one blog a day, Monday-Friday. Each day a new blog post will be added by one of our fashion and beauty experts. Each expert will be tackling one area of style.  I will be doing an “Ask Rosalee” post every Monday and will be answering your beauty and fashion questions. Please feel free to email your questions to rosalee@bravaenterprises.com

To introduce the team, we have compiled a list of questions to help you get to know us better. Check back throughout the week to meet everyone!

A little about me…I am a licensed cosmetology practitioner/manager and fashion stylist, based in Madison, Wisconsin. I have been involved in fashion and beauty for as long as I can remember. I do hair, makeup, and fashion styling for fashion shows and photo shoots. I also work in a salon which gives me a unique perspective and insight into our community. I feel like the luckiest girl in the world! I get to participate in all areas of my dream work. It is my life’s mission to help everyone know themselves as beautiful. I get so much joy in helping individuals feel confident in who they are. It is incredibly rewarding to be given a platform like Brava Magazine and this blog to assist more people in discovering that beauty!

What was the best fashion or beauty advice you’ve ever received?

My dad told me that “the best accessory you can wear is a smile” and “Be confident and be yourself.” I live my life by that advice everyday.

Who is your fashion icon?

I have so much respect for Rachel Zoe and Patrica Field. They inspire me with their talent in styling and also in how they have branded their businesses.

What was your biggest fashion or beauty disaster?

When I was younger, I over tweezed my eyebrows into tiny little thin lines. Yikes! Thankfully, they grew back!  I have no fashion regrets. I stand behind all of my silly or crazy outfits. Isaac Mizrahi once said, “If you’re going to fail, fail magnificently.” I have always felt that way about fashion. I take risks and put my whole heart into it. It may be a fashion disaster, but it’s my magnificent disaster.

You can only wear the wardrobe from one movie for the rest of your life. What movie would it be?

Hands down it would be Sex and The City 2! I love every piece! Pat Field is a genius.

What is the one essential item in your wardrobe you couldn’t live without?

I need anything black, everything sequined, & all weird animal jewelry to live.

Who or what is your biggest style influence?

The street style in NYC is a huge influence for me. I love the style and boutiques of the lower east side. I am blessed to be able to go to NYC a few times a year for inspiration and to do hair for New York Fashion Week. It is a privilege to be immersed in the fashion and beauty scene in NYC and bring it back to Wisconsin.

Describe your style in 3 words.

Sparkly, hippie, eccentric.

What’s currently on your wish list?

las jewelry oxidized bronze longhorn ring | $129 | OAK

I am obsessed with weird animal cocktail rings. I spotted this ring in July when I was in NYC. I have to place myself on a spending freeze when in Oak. I want everything in that amazing store! I almost broke my rule over this little guy. I wish I would have, because I think about this ring everyday. I hope it is still there. I plan on buying it when I go back to NYC in a week! So excited to have it on my finger!

John Varvatos, Vintage: It’s a special edition fragrance. I love wearing men’s fragrance. I always feel super seductive when I wear a rich musky scent. It has my favorite composition of the aromatic chypre family. Vintage smells like a sexy smoldering hippie. I am a sucker for a sexy smoldering hippie!

What beauty products can’t you live without?

I love beauty products! My absolute have-to-have’s would be: concealer, mascara, and lip gloss. I could go on for days on what my favorite beauty products are. I will be posting blogs on this topic, so check back often!

What is your favorite outfit that you’ve worn, and why?

Rachel Zoe!

I will have to go with the outfit I wore to the first Fashion’s Night Out event in NYC. It was a big night for fashion and for me personally. It was my first time doing hair for New York Fashion Week and my first time meeting some of my fashion idols. It would be tacky to drop names, but I will post my favorite picture of the night. I pinched myself and asked, “How did I get here?” I feel so blessed to be living my dreams!  I wore black leggings, a black tank, and a black men’s tux jacket with tails. I had a red scarf in my pocket, red lipstick on, and a whole lot of lashes!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Chelsea Roehl permalink
    September 1, 2010 9:24 am

    I read this blog religiously… I’m so excited to read your daily postings! eek! 🙂 🙂

    -Chels

  2. September 1, 2010 9:33 am

    Congrats Rosalee! I enjoyed the first article and look forward to many more.

    -TH

    • Rosalee permalink
      September 1, 2010 9:03 pm

      Thank you so much Tim!

  3. September 1, 2010 10:48 am

    Wow, I’m glad to find a fashion/style blog here in Madison – just popped over from the Brava FB page. Congrats & best wishes to you on your new job as the Fashion & Style Director. Any woman who sports mens tux jackets is ultra stylin’ in my book : )

    – Rachael Brooke

    • Rosalee permalink
      September 1, 2010 9:05 pm

      Thanks Rachael! You are so sweet! Love your profile pic!

  4. Abby Schoofs permalink
    September 1, 2010 7:25 pm

    Can’t wait to read more from the fab Rosalee and Brava! 😉

Trackbacks

  1. My Favorite Things: New York Fashion Week Edition « Style File

Leave a Reply

