Skip to content

Industry Icon: Amy Strohfeldt

November 24, 2009

Amy Strohfeldt

Industry Icon: Amy Strohfeldt
Designer/ Creator, Sprouts Images

By Chelsea Roehl

You’ll see Amy Strohfeldt as one of our models for BRAVA’s December fashion feature. I was very intrigued with the necklace she had on at the photo shoot and was surprised to find out it was one of her own creations! By the end of the day I was wearing my own one-of-a-kind necklace that I purchased from Amy.

Luckily, she was kind enough to allow me to pick her brain about her new business.

BRAVA: What was your inspiration to develop this business?
Amy: It’s been an evolution. Ideas for pictures and necklaces came to me faster then I could create them. I chose “Sprouts” because I wanted it to be something that represented new growth and a new beginning. My creative view of the world has always been the same—I appreciate line, texture and shape. I see beauty in simplicity.

BRAVA: What personal goals you have for your business?
Amy: I  look forward to creating and sharing a product with people that inspires them in their own lives. All of my designs have a skeleton key, which I feel represents unlocking of a vision…when they are personalized with a charm it offers more meaning. Each piece is handmade, unique and speaks to the person that wears it. I want to share the idea of faith, hope, courage, love—whatever speaks to the heart. Beyond offering these items to people, I personally would love to see this business grow for the opportunities it would give me to express myself creatively and provide for my two kids.

BRAVA: Where do you find the pieces to use for the jewelry?
Amy: I find the keys in antique stores, and the leather, wire, chain and charms are found from suppliers, and the stones have come from different sources. I keep open to the idea of adding new stones or perhaps crystals. Currently I am using turquoise and opals. Stones that look natural and earthy are what I look for.

BRAVA: Where can we find and purchase your items?
Amy: I am working to develop my website,
www.sproutsimages.com, and should have that up and running by the end of November. I am also selling my work in two stores in the Madison area. Driftless Studio on State Street and Sergenian’s in Hilldale. My goal is to be in 10 stores by the holidays!

Chelsea’s top pick: Vintage Key Inspirational Necklace, $39

sprouts1

Sprouts  Images |Madison; (608) 438-2411 or sproutsimages@yahoo.com

Chelsea is a fashion intern at BRAVA, and can be reached at chelsea@bravaenterprises.com.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2009 3:48 am

    Thank you so much for the nice write up on my business… I am thrilled to be included in Brava’s Blog…It was a pleasure to meet all of you, and I look forward to seeing the December issue.
    Amy

Trackbacks

  1. “Puttin’ on the Glitz” for BRAVA’s December issue « Style File

Leave a Reply

