Skip to content

Industry Icon: Yvette Kindschi

October 23, 2009

Owner Yvette Kin

Owner Yvette Kindschi

Industry Icon: Yvette Kindschi
Owner, La Bella Vita

By Chelsea Roehl

I must say, La Bella Vita is a treasure! The unique gift shop off University Ave. has an artistic, trendy feel. The walls were covered with cool metal art, photographs and paintings. But my favorite display (shown below) was a selection of scarves that owner Yvette Kindschi had hanging from tree branches on the ceiling. I also fell in love with the graphic bags and leather cuff bracelets, which you’ll see below as well.

Always expanding and reworking her collections, Kindschi was in the middle of moving fixtures  when I stopped in, and was kind enough to take the time to chat! If you’re in the Middleton area and looking a unique gift, drop in to La Bella Vita—you’re guaranteed to find a fantastic selection.

BRAVA: What’s your favorite piece in the store right now?
Yvette: Oh, that’s a hard question because I have more than one! I’m in love with these gorgeous floor lamps made from wood, coconut leaves and leather. As far as accessories, I am enthralled with the new line of pins from an artist in Rhode Island. They are layered collections of metals and beads, drawing on inspiration from the American Southwestern, Egyptian and Indian mythology.

BRAVA: How does your own personal style come across in your store?
Yvette: The store is very eclectic. I mix contemporary, modern, Hollywood glam and rustic pieces.

102_0307

BRAVA: Do you follow fashion trends?
Yvette: I would not consider myself a “trend follower.” The latest trend that I’ve incorporated into my style is layering—I always layer!

BRAVA: How do you decide what accessories to sell in the shop?
Yvette: My primary buying goal is to find unusual products that have a good value and can be worn for years. Regarding purses, my buying is based on what’s going on in fashion along with the color, style and texture of the bags.

BRAVA: I loved the leather cuff bracelets! What would you suggest pairing them up with?
Yvette: I would pair that bracelet with simple chunky chains, hemp or natural materials would work too. Don’t forget shell, amber or green materials like recycled aluminum or recycled glass.

Chelsea’s top picks at La Bella Vita:

102_0303

Teal Graphic Bag, $119

102_0316

Leather Cuff Bracelet, $59

La Bella Vita | 6666 University Ave., Middleton; (608) 831-3303 or lbvgallery.com

Chelsea is a fashion intern at BRAVA, and can be reached at chelsea@bravaenterprises.com.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

