Skip to content

Industry Icon: Jessica O’Connor of Patricia Shoppe

October 1, 2009

Happy Thursday blog readers! I’m thrilled to dedicate my post this week to introducing BRAVA fashion intern, Chelsea Roehl. She’s been on board for a few weeks now, and we’re thrilled to kick off the first of her blog series: Industry Icon. In her words…

Hi everyone! I’m Chelsea—BRAVA’s fashion intern—and each week I’ll be visiting local women in fashion who are raising the style bar in our area. I’ll be sharing my experiences at their respective shops or places of business and provide advice I’ve gleaned from the Industry Icon of the week.

My wish is that you find my weekly entries entertaining and helpful, and if you ever have feedback, feel free to shoot me an email: chelsea@bravaenterprises.com. Enjoy!

102_0269Industry Icon: Jessica O’Connor
Owner, Patricia Shoppe

The Patricia Shoppe has a feminine, vintage vibe with a modern twist. I immediately fell in love with the unique pieces and distinctive accessories, a few of which I’ve photographed below. But first, I sat down with owner Jessica O’Connor to discuss her take on the atmosphere at Patricia Shoppe.

What can women expect to find in your store?
It’s very girly. Our prices are moderate. Most of the apparel is between $50-$150.  The store motto is, “Affordable Luxuries for American Beauties.”

Where do you get your fashion inspiration?
Patricia Shoppe was first started in Chicago in the 1940s. Our items have a vintage feel with modern interpretations. We try to stick with the classics, and we want our customer to be able to use what she already has in her wardrobe with the purchases made at Patricia Shoppe.

How often do you research trends?
We don’t necessarily follow the trends at our store because we like the classics. I pay special attention to what the people are buying. What we may like might not sell if it’s not what the customers want.

What is your favorite item at the store right now?
I would have to say the buckled leather booties. If there are any left in my size, I’m taking them home!

Chelsea’s top picks at Patricia Shoppe:
1. Buckled leather booties, $138

102_0266

2. Hidden pearl ring, $98

102_0271

3. Keyhole earrings, $28

102_0274

Patricia Shoppe | 137 W. Johnson St., Madison; (608) 256-1111 or patriciashoppe.com

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

